Explaining Root Criteria Of Bobsweep

During a recently available round at a four star local course, I found one of many special individuals I mentioned previously. Let’s call this person “Bob “.My partner and I met Bob on the green of the tenth bobsweep hole. I’d enjoyed a truly solid front 9. I was having a good time and enjoying the day. I started the trunk nine by stripping one down the center of the fairway. That’s when it all started initially to go wrong. You see, Bob’s assignment for your day was to syringe the greens. I could almost hear the thoughts of the superintendent; “Ok, just contain the hose on the brown area. I understand they can accomplish that without screwing it up.” And that’s pretty sound logic, but what he forgot is that the green is the most important area on the course! Bob obviously didn’t understand that.

As my partner and I approached our tee shots, we saw Bob for the very first time standing with his hose on the green (I can already see the comments piling up for that line). We didn’t think much of it even as we got out of our cart and prepared to hit our approach shots. I was away, so I pulled the magic number and stepped around my ball. I looked over the green expecting to see an open green with Bob and his hose off aside somewhere. Instead, I saw Bob and his hose still right in front of the flag! His hose was literally wrapped across the hole and he was standing about twenty feet facing the pin! I considered to myself, “he must not have experienced us pull up, so I’ll wait “.

It wasn’t but a couple seconds before he looked up at us, back off, and maintained watering like we weren’t even there! Now I began to have thrilled! What is this person thinking? He’s got 100 ft. of hose all around the green and he’s standing right in front of the pin! I chose to just stand there. How could I hit to a natural included in a hose and Bob standing right by the pin? After what felt like 10 minutes but was probably similar to 90 seconds, he finally began to move from the way. However, rather than leaving the green, he moved from before the pin to directly behind it leaving his hose extended all around the green. So now as opposed to taking into consideration the shot that I’m trying to hit, I’m thinking about this moron and his hose on the green. I’m contemplating what is going to happen when I hit him or his hose!

Now, I’m standing over the ball filled with anger and frustration and you can guess how good of an attempt I hit. I chucked my a hundred and sixty yard shot about a hundred yards. I’ll spare you the important points of the remaining portion of the hole, but it was ugly. When we finally got up to the green, it had been more of the same with our buddy Bob. My partner had to ask Bob to go his hose so that he could chip up to the pin. Bob looked surprised and confused at the request! After that hole, I was so angry and flustered that I lost my focus for the remaining round.

These kind of things should never happen! Are you able to imagine the pro’s wanting to play with those kinds of distractions? I can easily see it now, “Just hang on Ernie, let me finish syringing this green here. I’m going to be out of your way in a couple minutes. Just sit tight.” Look, I realize that maintenance employees have to do their job while we customers are reaping the reward of their labor. However, they must be something we see briefly and forget about. We should remember how well groomed the course is, how pretty the flowers are, and how lucky we should be out there. The last thing we must remember is just a maintenance worker that’s the legitimate reason behind an awful round. I realize that some people will say, “You ought to be tough enough mentally to manage distractions like that.” But, how do I be anticipated to be stronger mentally compared to pros are anticipated to be? Maintenance workers should be reminded daily that the customers are individuals the course depends upon to cover their salary. So stay out of their way!

Now, it’s only fair that people mention the other side of the story as well. For all of you maintenance guys and gals who know very well what you’re doing, thank you! For instance, to the guy that’s mowing across the green and pulls over to shut down his mower when you play through the hole, thank you. On the road to another location hole, he offers you a laugh and a wave as you pass him. That’s what I’m referring to! That’s how I wish to be treated when I spend my hard-earned money to play a golf course! I wish to feel like Bob is happy to see me! I’d like him to increase my positive experience on the golf course. Many of you do and you need to be appreciated and thanked for doing your job the best way. So thanks to those who understand that customer service continues to be part of one’s job although you’re not behind the counter in the pro shop.

Leave a Reply

