Before you begin your search to find the best Florida auto insurance rates, you must first consider simply how much coverage is sufficient for Florida auto insurance the lifestyle. Although the average auto insurance premium in their state of Florida is $1,695 (2009), not absolutely all Florida residents will pay the same rates. According to a number of factors, you may pay pretty much than the common Florida driver. Premiums vary greatly by age, gender, geographic location, and type of vehicle, mileage, usage, driving record, employment, and even credit. Florida drivers could also find yourself spending less based on the kinds of discounts each policyholder qualifies for.
To get going on purchasing Florida auto insurance, a good starting place may be the state’s minimum auto liability insurance requirements. It is essential to see that Florida’s car insurance laws have undergone several changes since 2007. The data published here comes directly from the state Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Based on FLHSMV, in order to maintain a Florida license plate and registration, Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
Because Florida has the 3rd highest quantity of drivers traveling in the country (12,905,813) and approximately 23% of the drivers are uninsured, most auto insurance companies and state insurance departments recommend carrying higher amounts compared to the minimum requirements. In addition they recommend carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This will help protect you against the nearly 3 million uninsured drivers and the millions of underinsured drivers in the state of Florida. Overall, the minimum recommended amounts for car insurance in Florida are $100,000 for bodily injury and $300,000 per accident.
Once you have established an amount that’s sufficient to protect you and your household against auto accidents, it’s time to begin shopping and comparing. Contact as much as 3 auto insurance companies and request a quote. If you request quotes online you are able to save time. You will soon be asked some questions and the machine will generate a quote. Once you’ve received as much as three quotes, contact your company of preference and inquire about discounts. Most insurance providers offer multiple discounts, sometimes as much as 9 or more, and there is a good chance you may qualify for more than one. You may be in a position to money in on discounts for being a great driver or a mature drivers. Other discounts can be found for car-pool drivers, multicar households, multipolicy discounts, antitheft devices, and seatbelts and airbags. Some auto insurance companies even offer discounts for non-smokers.
Note: The state of Florida has strict laws about whom you work with. If you’re a Florida resident and your car or truck is registered in the state of Florida, you have to purchase a car insurance coverage via an insurance company that’s licensed to offer car insurance in their state of Florida. If you acquire an auto insurance plan from an unlicensed out-of-state insurance provider, their state of Florida will not honor the policy. Furthermore, new Florida residents are prohibited from maintaining a current policy that’s been issued inside their previous state of residence.