Swift Programs Of Marketo Implementation For 2012

I like my newsletters to come in to a separate email I keep for them so that whenever I have time, I can peruse them for nuggets that’ll make me smarter, wealthier, or just plain informed. To that end, I try to control these subscriptions by changing to that particular other email address.

What I find is that a large most of email systems don’t have a method to let me produce a change in my own email address. They just allow me to Unsubscribe. What winds up happening is that I really do Unsubscribe. Often I’d be thinking about keeping the subscription…if I really could change my email address.

What amazes me is that over a year after I first wrote about that, it still happens. Not only that, however, many very prominent marketing companies seem to have this affliction. It’s embarrassing. Don’t allow it to eventually you.

Keep your subscribers. Don’t let this happen to those hard-won, loyal fans. You might see copy like: “If you may not wish to receive further offers from XYZ Firm, please follow this link:”

Marketo and Alterian, two respectable marketo implementation marketing companies, have exactly the same issue. My only choice was to Unsubscribe. (I have to provide Alterian credit; they at the very least offered me their RSS feed. Still, I couldn’t change my email address.) By now, you see my frustration and why this is a pet peeve.

Marketo and Alterian don’t give me the ability to just change my email address.

Want to know who gets in right?

BusinessWire, by using SafeUnsubscribe from Constant Contact. There are many services that obtain it right. Go find one and make sure to put it to use which means you keep your loyal group of followers by letting them get your newsletters their way.

Each time a company uses SafeUnsubscribe or perhaps a similar service, I can Update my current email address to set up the address where I wish to get my newsletter. I also can Unsubscribe from ALL emailings, but I can also change my format to Text which takes up much less memory. Think how important that could be to a mobile newsletter subscriber. Lastly, I can just continue to get mailings.

It’s understandable that to be CAN SPAM compliant and ensure that consumers can opt-out or unsubscribe, the companies that push emails out for all of us haven’t given consumers flexibility to change their profile.

As marketers we work so very hard to construct and nurture our fan base. Why frustrate them by choosing an in flexible and self-defeating email system. Look at your current email system and evaluate it for the flexibility to improve your email address and settings. Could you change easily to Text from HTML? Find out the answers and get this to simple fix that’ll boost your retention of subscribers to your email newsletter.

Leave a Reply

